Beckwith Earns CWS Diesing Award
Coastal Carolina pitcher, Andrew Beckwith, was named the John D. Diesing, Sr., Most Outstanding Player for the 2016 College World Series. Beckwith, the junior right-hander, earned three wins during the CWS to help lead the Chanticleers their first national championship. Beckwith’s performance included a pair of one-run complete games and five successful innings in the championship game, to defeat Arizona, 4-3. His accomplishments rank among the all-time great pitching efforts on this stage.

Beckwith set the tone for Coastal Carolina, pitching a complete game in a 2-1 win over top-seeded Florida. He later threw another complete game, in a 4-1 win over TCU, throwing 138 pitches to keep the Chanticleers alive in the losers bracket. TCU and Coastal Carolina faced again with the winner advancing to the CWS Finals. In the best-of-three championship series, Beckwith delivered five scoreless innings before allowing two unearned runs in the sixth inning. He finished the season with a 15-1 record that topped the most wins in NCAA Division I Baseball since 2010. As a junior, his 2.17 career ERA and 1.85 ERA over 117 innings set the record for CCU’s Division I era.

Since 1949, the NCAA has presented an award to the student-athlete whose performance and contributions to his team single him out as the College World Series’ Most Outstanding Player. In 1999, John D. “Jack” Diesing’s name was added to the Most Outstanding Player award in recognition of four decades of his outstanding leadership and dedication to the growth of the College World Series. The NCAA’s deep respect for Diesing’s contribution to the vitality of the event is evident. Players earning the award receive a miniature replica of The Road to Omaha sculpture, which sits at the doorsteps of TD Ameritrade Park Omaha. This sculpture serves as a permanent testimonial to the enduring sports tradition and the NCAA has endorsed no other similar championship awards.

  • Recent Recipients
    2015 - Josh Sborz, Virginia
    2014 - Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt
    2013 - Adam Plutko, UCLA
    2012 - Robert Refsnyder, Arizona
    2011 - Scott Wingo, South Carolina
    2010 - Jackie Bradley, Jr., South Carolina
    2009 - Jared Mitchell, LSU
    2008 - Tommy Mendonca, Fresno State
    2007 - Jorge Reyes, Oregon State
    2006 - Jonah Nickerson, Oregon State




    June 16-26/27, 2018

    TD Ameritrade Park Omaha - Omaha, Neb.


    Roll Over to Expand for Game-related Links


    June 16-26/27, 2018

    About CWS of Omaha, Inc.

    College World Series of Omaha, Inc., the local organizing committee, is a non-profit organization formed in 1967. The mission of its all-volunteer board of directors is enlisting community support for the College World Series from business, government, civic organizations and individuals.

    Learn More »